LawLink August 2013

This Issue


Armed with a mission to promote awareness of fitness and wellness, Patrick Wee ’89 shares with LawLink on what inspires him and how this has driven him to build a business with a strong regional presence in the health industry. Click here to find out more.

  This Issue
  Dean's Diary
  Alumni Feature
  Faculty Feature
  Student Feature
  Class Reunions
  Class Action

Dean's Diary

The Dean highlights some of the faculty’s achievements and activities, including the Class of 2013 Commencement, conferment of Mr Lee Kuan Yew's Honorary Doctor of Laws, among others. Click here to find out more.

NUS Law’s First Provost’s Chairs 


Prof AP Simester and Prof Thio Li-ann have been appointed as NUS Law’s first Provost’s Chairs. These term chairs are designed to recognise outstanding performance in research that has achieved international recognition. Click here to find out more.

One Year On…Meet Our Young Faculty Members!

LawLink catches up with Asst Prof Mark McBride, Asst Prof Swati Jhaveri and Asst Prof Chen Weitseng who have just celebrated their first year with NUS Law recently, and find out more on their experiences here so far. Click here to find out more.

Founding Prime Minister Conferred Honorary Degree from NUS

The Honorary Doctor of Laws was conferred on Mr Lee Kuan Yew in recognition of his widely admired leadership as Singapore's founding Prime Minister, his vision, commitment and countless contributions to economic and societal advancement in the country, as well as his strong affiliation and contributions to the University. Click here to find out more.

NUS Law Commencement Ceremony 2013

The Commencement Ceremony 2013, which took place on 11 July, marks a new beginning for almost 400 graduates from NUS Law, as they embark on a journey to build their respective careers and future. Click here to find out more.

Alumni Engagement Lunch

NUS Law welcomed alumni who have left the legal profession to pursue business ventures in various fields to the Bukit Timah campus for lunch on 16 May 2013. Click here to find out more.


Upcoming Reunions

NUS Class of ’83 – 30th Anniversary Reunion – 17 August 2013, 6.30 pm

Law Alumni Family Day – 31 August 2013, 5.30 pm

Law Reunion in Hong Kong – 25 October 2013, 7 pm

Click here to read more about the reunions.


Law School Benefactors

1 April 2013 to 31 May 2013

ABOVE $100,000

HL Wee Mooting Fund and HL Wee Scholarship Fund

Mrs Ann Elizabeth Wee

ABOVE $10,000

Isabel Chng Mui Lin Intellectual Property Book Grant Fund

Estate of Chng Mui Lin, Isabel

Peter Ellinger Visiting Professorship

Rajah & Tann Foundation

The Honourable Attorney-General Steven Chong ’82

ABOVE $1,000

Asia-Pacific Centre For Environmental Law (APCEL)

Associate Professor Lye Lin Heng, Irene ’73

Professor Nicholas A Robinson

Class of 1982 Bursary

Dr Toh See Kiat ’82

Madam Liow Kim Choo, Leonora ’82

Faculty of Law General Account

Mr Leong Chi-Keong, Dany ’96

Isabel Chng Mui Lin Intellectual Property Book Grant Fund

Mr Chng Teck Yeong, Callistus

Ms Goh Lee Ting, Lilian

Ms Tan Sok Kheng, Joyce Agnes ’83

Peacemakers' Prize In Mediation

Associate Professor Lee Tye Beng, Joel

Mr Goh Choong Sien, Aloysius ’03

Ms Lin Wenrong ’08

Ms Tang Bik Kwan, Hazel ’06

Peter Ellinger Visiting Professorship

Mr Tan Chuan Thye

The Honourable Justice Andrew Phang ’82

The International Moots Account

Baker & McKenzie.Wong & Leow

UP TO $1,000

Class of 1982 Bursary

Mr Louis Angelo D'Souza ’82

Faculty of Law General Account

Ms Sim Wei Na ’05

Isabel Chng Mui Lin Intellectual Property Book Grant Fund

Ella Cheong LLC

Francine Tan Law Corporation

Mr Poh Chee Kian, Daniel ’01

Mr Seow Hung Ming, Simon ’93

Mr Suresan Sachi ’89

Mr Yeap Tralvex

Mr Yee Chee Hong

Mr Yeo Wee Ming

Ms Chiam Lee Meng

Ms Low Wei Ning

Ms Ng Huiling, Adeline Grace

Ms Rose Hanna Bte Ramli

Ms Zhao Yan

Namazie & Co

Professor Margo A Bagley

Synergy IP Pte Ltd

Kwa Geok Choo Bursary

Mr Tan Huan Kee, Christopher

Lee Sheridan Legal Education Fund

Assistant Professor Arif Jamal

Assistant Professor Wee Meng Seng ’93

Mr Kronenburg Edmund Jerome ’96

Mr Lee Jian Le, Marcus ’11

Mr Lee Ming-Le, Jonathan ’10

Mr Ong Ban Chai ’68

Mr Pruetthipunthu Tris Xavier ’09

Ms Chew Wei Lin ’12

Ms Leong Lai Fung ’86

Ms Shen Haoyu ’09

Ms Yap Eng Lin, Taryn ’08

Peacemakers' Prize In Mediation

Mr Loh Guo Wei, Melvin ’11

Mr Ng Ren Zhang, Gavin ’11

Ms Fung Shuyin, Cheryl ’08

Peter Ellinger Visiting Professorship

The Honourable Judicial Commissioner Lionel Yee

The Honourable Justice Chan Seng Onn ’86