LawLink January 2014

This Issue

Photo courtesy of Singapore Tatler, Sept 2013 issue

Recently re-elected as the President of the Singapore Law Society for another year, Lok Vi Ming SC ’86, continues his crusade to strengthen various areas within the law fraternity and to champion pro bono efforts through nurturing the young. He is also a partner at Rodyk & Davidson LLP. Mr Lok speaks to LawLink on his future plans and also his experience at NUS Law. Click here to find out more.

  This Issue
  Dean's Diary
  Alumni Feature
  Faculty Feature
  Student Feature
  Class Reunions
  Class Action

Dean's Diary

The year 2013 was a transformative one for NUS Law. We completed our first curriculum review in more than a decade and launched the most ambitious research agenda in NUS Law’s history. The Dean shares some highlights from the past year in his third Annual Letter. Click here to find out more.

Hope for a Greener World 


Emeritus Prof Koh Kheng Lian ’61 did NUS and Singapore proud when it was announced that she had been awarded the internationally reputed Elizabeth Haub Prize for Environmental Law. LawLink speaks to Emeritus Prof Koh to share with us her vision for environmental development. Click here to find out more.

Prominent Alumni Return to Faculty

Two of NUS Law’s eminent alumni, Tan Lee Meng ’72 & Chan Sek Keong ’61, return to the faculty to continue their passion in teaching, and pursue research and writing. Click here to find out more.

Law Teaching Staff Awards

Prof Walter Woon ’81, Asst Prof Umakanth Varottil '10 (Ph.D), Asst Prof Sandra Annette Booysen '09 (Ph.D), and Asst Prof Goh Yihan ’06 were awarded the Faculty of Law’s 2013 Annual Teaching Excellence Awards. Click here to find out more.

Law Alumni Awarded at NUS Alumni Awards

Two of NUS Law’s Alumni, Lucien Wong Yuen Kuai ’78, and Mohamed Faizal s/o Mohamed Abdul Kadir ’05 were honoured at the NUS Alumni Awards 2013. Click here to find out more.

NUS Law Wins Asian British Parliamentary Debating Championships

NUS Law emerge as victors again in the Asian British Parliamentary Debating Championships! Winning the championships for the second time consecutively with team mate Hongyu, Kelvin gives LawLink an account of his exciting experience at the championships. Click here to find out more.


Reunion of Law Alumni in India.

Class of 2003 10th anniversary Reunion.

Class of ’84 – 30th Anniversary Reunion – 14 March 2014, 7 pm.

Click here to read more about the reunions.


Law School Benefactors

1 November 2013 to 31 December 2013


ABOVE $100,000
Sat Pal Khattar Professorship in Tax Law
Mr Arvind Khattar
Mr Sat Pal Khattar ’71
ABOVE $10,000
Class of 1986 Bennett Lam Scholarship Fund
Mr Sin Boon Ann ’86
Class of 1993 Bursary
Mr Lee Yih Sin, Eugene ’93
Mr Liew Chih Yuan, Steven ’93
Mr Tan Ken Hwee ’94
Mr Tay Huat Chai, Kelvin ’93
Ms Stefanie Yuen Thio ’93
Lee Sheridan Legal Education Fund
Professor Woon Cheong Ming, Walter ’81
Sat Pal Khattar Professorship in Tax Law
Ms Reeta Khattar
Tan Han Boon Bursary
Mr Tan Chong Huat ’89
ABOVE $1,000
Class of 1982 Bursary
Mr Toh See Kiat ’82
Class of 1983 Bursary
Ms Kayalvily Sachithananthan ’83
Class of 1993 Bursary
Michael Por Law Corporation
Mr Chen Guan Feng ’93
Mr Ho Seng Chee ’93
Ms Lee Geok Chiau, Grace
Kwa Geok Choo Scholarship
Mr Chen Jie'An, Jared ’09
Lee Sheridan Legal Education Fund
Associate Professor Ng Siew Kuan, Elizabeth
Professor Simon Arthur Chesterman
Mr Yuen Kar Kit, Paul ’88
UP TO $1,000
Class of 1982 Bursary
Mr Chen Tze Penn
Mr Louis D'Souza ’82
Class of 1983 Bursary
Mr Wong Tien Chung, Terence Francis ’83
Ms Chin Li Fen ’83
Ms Lee Geok Kim, Christine ’83
Ms Ng Chai Ngee ’83
Class of 1987 Bursary
Mr Tan Boon Yong, Thomas ’87
Class of 1993 Bursary
Associate Professor Chan Kok Yew, Gary ’93
Mr Tan Boon Heng ’93
Kwa Geok Choo Bursary
Mr Kao Kwok Weng, Jonathan ’10
Mr Tan Huan Kee, Christopher
Ms Lim Lee Ling, Colleen ’11
Lee Sheridan Legal Education Fund
Assistant  Professor Arif Aminmohamed Jamal
Mr Kok Pin Chin, Stanley ’03
Mr Kronenburg Edmund Jerome ’96
Mr Lee Jian Le, Marcus ’11
Mr Lee Ming-Le, Jonathan ’10
Ms Leong Lai Fung ’86
Mr Lim Tahn Lin, Alfred ’09
Ms Pong Siu Qey ’08
Assistant Professor Wee Meng Seng ’93
Mr Yip Hsien Chang ’92
NUS Law Fund
Datuk Chong Tho Chin ’71
Ms Neo Kee Heng, Margaret ’79
Mr Peh Aik Hin ’07
Mr Tan Chuan Bing, Kendall ’99
Ms Tan Wei Lin, Adelene
Ms Wan Wai Yee ’96
Mr Yee Weng Wai, Bernard ’00