LawLink September 2014


This Issue

Down Memory Lane with Justice Andrew Ang ’71
Having recently retired after almost a decade as a High Court Judge, Justice Andrew Ang ’71 shares with LawLink his memories at NUS Law both as a student and as an academic, and his favourite moments during his career. Click here to read more.

  This Issue
  Dean's Diary
  Alumni Feature
  Faculty Feature
  Student Feature
  Class Reunions
  Class Action
Dean's Diary

The Dean talks about new appointments, the launch of two new centres, and discusses the issue on the supply of lawyers, and other exciting things that have happened at NUS Law. Click here to read more.

Law Rag 2014

After 2 months of intense, backbreaking rehearsals, Law Rag 2014 was equal parts tongue-in-cheek, dramatic, sexy, enigmatic, evocative and exuberant. Click here to read more.

Launch of Centre for Law & Business 

The Centre for Law & Business (CLB) was launched to enhance and promote research and educational opportunities for faculty, students, legal practitioners and business executives in the fields of Law, Business and Economics. In conjunction with the event, the Framing IP Conference brings together leading scholars to consider how intellectual property law should be framed in the 21st century. Click here to read more.

President's Dialogue Lunch with Law Alumni

As part of their efforts to maintain close ties and an engaging relationship with the Law School Alumni, NUS President Tan Chorh Chuan and Dean Simon Chesterman met up with some members of the law school alumni for a dialogue session over lunch. Click here to read more.


Law School Benefactors

1 July 2014 - 31 August 2014


ABOVE $100,000
Kwa Geok Choo Distinguished Visitor  
Wing Tai Foundation
Kwa Geok Choo Professorship in Property Law
Ngee Ann Kongsi
Kwa Geok Choo Scholarship
Sembcorp Cogen Pte Ltd


Above $1,000


Centre for Law & Business
Rodyk & Davidson LLP


Class of 1982 Bursary
Dr Toh See Kiat ’82

Isabel Chng Mui Lin Intellectual Property Book Grant Fund  
Mr Chng Teck Yeong, Callistus ’88  

Lee Sheridan Legal Education Fund
Ms Yong Siow Hui, Michelle ’04


Michael Hor Prize
Professor Leong Wai Kum

Professor Tan Sook Yee

Tan Han Boon Bursary
Mr Tan Chong Huat ’89


UP TO $1,000


Class of 1983 Bursary
Ms Ng Chai Ngee ’83

Faculty of Law General Account
Ms Kwek Jin Peng, Yvonne ’05

Lo Hwei Yen Memorial Scholarship
Ms Lim Chin Ping, Suzanne ’96


Kwa Geok Choo Bursary
Mr Kao Kwok Weng, Jonathan ’10


Lee Sheridan Legal Education Fund
Ms Aparna Raman

Mr Chan Huang Chiang, Timothy Ethan '14

Mr Kronenburg Edmund Jerome ’96

Mr Lee Jian Le, Marcus '11

Ms Lee Koon Ghee, Laurel Felicia ’97

Mr Lee Ming-Le, Jonathan ’10

Mr Lee Zhiwen, Linus '14

Ms Lin Peiying, Clarissa '14

Ms Mak Shin Yi '14

Ms Myat Thu Soe

Ms Nadine Keller LL.M '14

Mr Tan Kee Han, Jefferson '14

Ms Tay Lin Qian '14

Ms Wang Jiaqi ’13

Assistant Professor Wee Meng Seng ’93

Mr Yeo Shao Yi, Nicholas