NUS Law wins Top Arbitration Award

From left: Darren Sim ’20, Violet Huang Qianwei ’20, Daniel Ling ’20, Sophia Yew ’20 and Tan Fong Han ’20

A team of first year students from NUS Law have won the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators (CIArb) Japan Chapter Award in the Intercollegiate Negotiation Competition held at Sophia University in Tokyo on 3 and 4 December 2016. The award goes to the top arbitration team in the competition.

The team members are Daniel Ling ’20, Tan Fong Han ’20, Darren Sim ’20, Violet Huang Qianwei ’20 and Sophia Yew ’20.

The team emerged second to a joint team of third and fourth year students from the Australian National University (ANU) and Sydney University in the negotiation competition.

The NUS Law team also won the Best Teamwork Award.

This is the second time that a team from NUS Law is participating in this competition. A team of first year students won the negotiation competition and the overall competition last year.

The team was supported by Associate Professor Lim Lei Theng ’92, Associate Professor Ruby Lee ’85 and Ms Sonita Jeyapathy ’03 as well as several moots alumni, in particular David Isidore Tan’s ’16 Moots Alumni Initiative, who have been of immeasurable support to them.

Awards from the Intercollegiate Negotiation Competition