NUS Law First Runners-Up at Herbert Smith Freehills Competition Law Moot

The NUS Law team of Mok Ho Fai ’17, Gan Wei Rong ’17, Arjuna Segathesan ’17 and Jessica Mau ’17 emerged as first runners-up in the 3rd Herbert Smith Freehills Competition Law Moot competition. The team was coached by Associate Professor Burton Ong ’99.

In a closely-fought final, Hong Kong University won by a 3-2 majority. The NUS team impressed the panel of judges with their legal arguments on behalf of a fictitious internet search engine client faced with allegations of anti-competitive conduct arising from its refusal to license its search data to a rival, while simultaneously challenging a tying arrangement made by that rival as anti-competitive.

The NUS team won the Best Memorial award for their written submissions. Ho Fai was named Best Oralist in the entire competition, while Arjuna and Wei Rong received honorable mentions for their advocacy skills.

These results could not have been achieved without the sponsorship and support of the Competition Commission of Singapore. Special thanks are also due to the many individuals who have helped the team along the way, including:

  • Ken Chia and Seng Yi Lin ’05 from Baker & McKenzie

  • Dominique Lombardi from Rajah & Tann

  • Corinne Chew from Drew & Napier

  • Joy Fuyuno from Microsoft Corporation

  • Sebastian Krujatz from Temasek Holdings

  • Post-Doctoral Research Fellow Dr Andrea Katharina Gideon, Associate Professor Eleanor Wong ’85, Associate Professor Lim Lei Theng ’92 from NUS Law

  • NUS Law alumni Benjamin Wong ’15, Jeremiah Lau ’15, Daryl Yong ’15, Wong Chun Han ’15, Ng Yee Ting ’16, Erwin Wan ’16, David Isidore Tan ’16, Jonathan Yong ’16, Ji En Lee ’17, Jeanette Wong ’17