NUS Law wins 11th Frankfurt Investment Arbitration Moot

Congratulations to Low Jia Rong '19, Emmanuel Aw '19, Violet Huang '20 and Tan Fong Han '20 for emerging Champions at the 2018 Frankfurt Investment Arbitration Moot! The team also picked up the Gary Born Award for the Best Non-OECD team.

This moot was organised by the Wilhelm Merton Centre for European Integration and International Economic Order and McDermott Will & Emery. The 11th edition of the Moot saw 47 international teams participating.

This year, the team tackled a moot problem set in the 1790s, concerning the seizure of ships and cargo in the Nootka Sound. The investor sought to bring a claim against the host state under a fictitious Trade and Prosperity Pact (TPP).

The final round was judged by Gavan Griffith Q.C., Laurent Lévy and Eduardo Silva Romero. The semi-final round was judged by Charles Poncet, Sabine Konrad and Siegfried Elsing. The NUS team was ranked first in the preliminary rounds and emerged top throughout the rest of the knock-out rounds. For winning the moot, the team will be offered a three-week placement at the Hague Academy of International Law.

The NUS team would like to thank their coach, Parveen Kaur ’16, for her constant support and guidance. The team also expresses its thanks to Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP and Clifford Chance Asia for financial support and training.

The team is also grateful for the guidance they received from Associate Professor Lim Lei Theng ’92, Associate Professor Eleanor Wong ’85, Professor Lucy Reed, Professor Sornarajah, Associate Professor Gary Bell, Professor Franco Ferrari (NYU Law), Assistant Professor Jean Ho ’03, Assistant Professor Vincent-Joel Proulx, Inga Martinkute and Elaine Chew ’09.

The team would also like to thank legal practitioners, Paul Tan ’05 and Matthew Koh ’13 (Rajah & Tann Asia), Kate Apostolova and Samantha Tang ’14 (Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP), Joan Lim-Casanova ’06 and Andrew Foo (Clifford Chance Asia) for their time in helping the team with their preparations.

The team further thanks alumni mooters, Douglas Wong ’16, Christopher Zheng ’17, Wilson Koh ’16 and David Isidore Tan ’16.