Runners-up in 13th LAWASIA Moot

L-R: Undergraduate students Abigail Anousha Fernandez ’21, Yohanes Ng ’21 and Sia Bao Huei ’21


The NUS Law team of Abigail Anousha Fernandez ’21, Sia Bao Huei ’21 and Yohanes Ng ’21 emerged second in the 13th LAWASIA International Moot Competition. Yohanes was also awarded the Mah Weng Kwai Trophy for Best Mooter.

Held in Siem Reap, Cambodia from 1 to 5 November 2018, the competition was organised by LAWASIA and sponsored by The College of Law (Australia and New Zealand) and the Asian International Arbitration Centre.

In the team's unbeaten run-up to the grand finals, the team faced off and prevailed against teams from Malaysia, Japan, Thailand, United Kingdom and the Singapore Management University.

The moot simulated International Commercial Arbitration proceedings under the Kuala Lumpur Regional Centre for Arbitration (KLRCA) Rules and the seat of the Kingdom of Cambodia. The moot problem concerned a construction dispute and included both arbitration procedural issues as well as substantive issues like whether an Indian side-nod could constitute valid acceptance of an offer.

The team would especially like to express their deepest gratitude to their coaches, Associate Professor Lim Lei Theng ’92 and Rachel Tan Xi'en ’17 for their guidance and help. They would also like to thank Kevin Elbert Toa ’15, David Isidore Tan ’16, Victor Leong ’16, Joshua Hiew ’17, Ian Choo ’18, Joshua Chia ’18, Manfred Lum ’18, Uma Sharma ’19, Tan Fong Han ’20, Violet Huang ’20, Ong Kye Jing ’21 and Navin Ahuja (pursuing his PhD at City University of Hong Kong) for assisting them in their preparations.