Secured Transactions Law in Asia

On 26 & 27 July 2018, the Centre for Banking & Finance Law (CBFL) and the EW Barker Centre for Law & Business (EWBCLB) of NUS Law co-hosted a symposium with the Commercial Law Centre (CLC), Harris Manchester College, University of Oxford, entitled ‘Secured Transactions Law in Asia’.

This was convened by CBFL’s Director, Associate Professor Dora Neo, and CLC’s Director, Professor Louise Gullifer. The symposium examined secured transactions law reform in Asia with in-depth studies of selected Asian jurisdictions and discussed the broader context of law reform in other international jurisdictions. It also considered general issues such as the connection between secured transactions and insolvency.

CLC (Oxford) and EWBCLB (NUS) are founding members of the Global Network for Commercial Law Research. This network links centres/groups for commercial law research at leading universities around the world with the aim to promote collaboration through joint conferences and research projects, research visits and exchanges, and other cooperative scholarly endeavours.

Dean Simon Chesterman with the convenors, Associate Professor Dora Neo (left) and Professor Louise Gullifer (right)


Participants of the ‘Secured Transactions Law in Asia’ Symposium
Top row (from left to right): Dr Wang Lebing (University of International Business and Economics), Professor Ignacio Tirado (Universidad Autónoma of Madrid), Professor Kwon Youngjoon (Seoul National University), Professor Anthony Duggan (University of Toronto), Mr Ibrahim Assegaf (Assegaf Hamzah & Partners), Mr Madhukar Umarji (Indian Banks Association), Dr Orkun Akseli (Durham University), Mr Aria Suyudi (World Bank Group), Dr Marek Dubovec (National Law Center for Inter-American Free Trade), Professor Andrew Jen-Guang Lin (National Taiwan University)

Bottom row (from left to right): Professor Charles Mooney (University of Pennsylvania), Professor Teresa Rodríguez de las Heras Ballell (Universidad Carlos III de Madrid), Associate Professor Dora Neo (NUS, Convenor), Professor Louise Gullifer (University of Oxford, Convenor), Ms Elaine MacEachern (World Bank Group), Professor Megumi Hara (Gakushuin University), Ms Huyen Pham (World Bank Group), Ms Parawee Kasitinon (Thammasat University), Mr Chester Abellera (Asian Development Bank)


Professor Teresa Rodríguez de las Heras Ballell

Ms Elaine MacEachern

Professor Kwon Youngjoon

Professor Megumi Hara

Professor Ignacio Tirado